Concise Minutes - Culture, Welsh Language and Communications Committee

Meeting Venue:

Committee Room 2 - Senedd

Meeting date: Wednesday, 20 November 2019

Meeting time: 09.34 - 12.22
This meeting can be viewed
on Senedd TV at:





Assembly Members:

Bethan Sayed AM (Chair)

Mick Antoniw AM

John Griffiths AM

Delyth Jewell AM

Carwyn Jones AM

David Melding AM


Kevin Bakhurst, OFCOM

Hywel William, Ofcom Advisory Committee for Wales

Robert Andrews, OFCOM

Dr Ruth McElroy, University of South Wales

Caitriona Noonan, Cardiff University

Martyn Ingram, Made in Wales

Angharad Mair, Tinopolis Cymru

Llion Iwan, Cwmni Da

Gareth Williams, Rondo Media

Committee Staff:

Martha Da Gama Howells (Clerk)

Angharad Roche (Deputy Clerk)

Robin Wilkinson (Researcher)



1       Introductions, apologies, substitutions and declarations of interest

1.1 The Chair welcomed Members to the meeting.



2       Small Screen: Big Debate - Regulatory Bodies

2.1 Kevin Bakhurst, Hywel Wiliam and Robert Andrews from OFCOM responded to questions from the Committee.



3       Small Screen: Big Debate - Academic Analysis

3.1 Ruth McElroy from University of South Wales and Caitriona Noonan from Cardiff University responded to questions from the Committee.



4       Small screen: Big Debate - Independent Content Producers

4.1 Martyn Ingram from Made in Wales, Angharad Mair from Tinopolis, Llion Iwan from Cwmni Da and Gareth Williams from Rondo Media responded to questions from the Committee.




5       Paper(s) to note



5.1   Letter from Hospital Broadcasting Association on Community Radio Report

5.1 Members noted the paper.



6       Motion under Standing Order 17.42 to resolve to exclude the public from the meeting for the following business:

6.1 Members agreed the motion.



7       Private debrief

7.1 Members agreed the terms of reference.





1.          FIELD_TITLE




2.          FIELD_TITLE














2.1          FIELD_TITLE





2.2          FIELD_TITLE