Concise Minutes - Culture, Welsh Language and Communications Committee

Meeting Venue:

Committee Room 2 - Senedd

Meeting date: Wednesday, 12 December 2018

Meeting time: 09.30 - 10.46
This meeting can be viewed
on Senedd TV at:





Assembly Members:

Bethan Sayed AM (Chair)

Mick Antoniw AM

Caroline Jones AM

Dai Lloyd AM

David Melding AM

Rhianon Passmore AM

Jenny Rathbone AM

Vikki Howells AM


Phil Henfrey, Head of News and Programmes, ITV Wales

Committee Staff:

Martha Da Gama Howells (Second Clerk)

Adam Vaughan (Deputy Clerk)

Robin Wilkinson (Researcher)



1       Introductions, apologies, substitutions and declarations of interest

Apologies were received from Jane Hutt AM, she was substituted by Vikki Howells AM.



2       Annual Scrutiny of ITV Cymru Wales

Mr Henfrey agreed to share ITV Cymru Wales’ response to the Ofcom consultation on ‘Proposed changes to the linear EPG Code and future of the prominence regime’



3       Paper(s) to note

Members noted the papers.



3.1   Committee response to Ofcom consultation on 'localness' requirements for radio licences



3.2   Further information from the Welsh Language Commissioner



3.3   Background briefing on the National Broadcast Archive from the Minister for Culture, Tourism and Sport



3.4   Copy of letter from the President of the National Library of Wales to the Minister for Culture, Tourism and Sport on the National Broadcast Archive



3.5   Letter from Chair to Minister for Culture, Tourism and Sport



4       Motion under Standing Order 17.42(vi) to resolve to exclude the public from the meeting for the following business:



5       Private debrief

Members agreed the report ‘Tuning in: inquiry into radio in Wales’.





1.          FIELD_TITLE




2.          FIELD_TITLE














2.1          FIELD_TITLE





2.2          FIELD_TITLE