Concise Minutes - Culture, Welsh Language and Communications Committee

Meeting Venue:

Committee Room 2 - Senedd

Meeting date: Wednesday, 24 October 2018

Meeting time: 09.30 - 11.25
This meeting can be viewed
on Senedd TV at:





Assembly Members:

Bethan Sayed AM

Mick Antoniw AM

Caroline Jones AM

David Melding AM

Rhianon Passmore AM


Osian Rhys, Cymdeithas yr Iaith

Bethan Williams, Welsh Language Society

Heini Gruffydd, Dyfodol i'r Iaith

Committee Staff:

Steve George (Clerk)

Martha Da Gama Howells (Second Clerk)

Adam Vaughan (Deputy Clerk)

Osian Bowyer (Researcher)

Gwyn Griffiths (Legal Adviser)



1       Introductions, apologies, substitutions and declarations of interest

1.1 Apologies were received from Jenny Rathbone, Jane Hutt and Siân Gwenllian. Dai Lloyd attended as a substitute for Siân Gwenllian.



2       Supporting and promoting the Welsh Language: An inquiry into the legislative, policy and wider context: Evidence session 4

2.1 Witnesses responded to questions from Members of the Committee.



3       Paper(s) to note

3.1 Committee Members noted the papers.



3.1   Funding for and access to music education: Letter from the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama



3.2   Funding for and access to music education: Letter to the Chair from the Welsh Local Government Association



3.3   Funding for and access to music education: Letter to the Chair from the Cabinet Secretary for Education



3.4   Short inquiry into ‘Building an S4C for the future: An independent review by Euryn Ogwen Williams’: Further information from S4C



3.5   Short inquiry into the implications of Brexit on areas within the Committee's remit: Response from National Library Wales



4       Motion under Standing Order 17.42.6 to resolve to exclude the public from the meeting for the following business:

4.1 The motion was agreed.



5       Private debrief

5.1 Committee Members discussed the evidence received.