Concise Minutes - Standards of Conduct Committee

Meeting Venue:

Committee Room 4 - Tŷ Hywel

Meeting date: Tuesday, 28 November 2017

Meeting time: 09.29 - 10.13






Assembly Members:

Jayne Bryant AM (Chair)

Gareth Bennett AM

Paul Davies AM

Llyr Gruffydd AM

Commissioner for Standards:

Sir Roderick Evans QC, Commissioner for Standards, Commissioner for Standards

Committee Staff:

Meriel Singleton (Second Clerk)

Claire Griffiths (Deputy Clerk)

Enrico Carpanini (Legal Adviser)

Jonathan Thomas (Commissioner for Standards Office)



1       Introductions, apologies, substitutions and declarations of interest

1.1        The Chair welcomed the Members to the Committee.

1.2        There were no apologies.



2       Papers to Note

2.1 The paper was noted.



2.1   Cross Party Groups Annual Reports: Correspondence from the Llywydd (14 November 2017)



3       Assembly Reform: Consideration of draft letter

3.1 Members considered the draft letter and agreed its contents.



4       Code of Conduct - Review

4.1 Members considered the request to work with the Assembly Commission to develop a Respect and Dignity Policy together with undertaking a review of the sanctions available if the Code of Conduct is breached.

4.2 The Committee agreed to:

·         Hold a written consultation to seek views on the process in general, whether there are any reasons people do not come forward with complaints and on any areas of the Code which could be clarified. Members also agreed to consider whether to hold any oral evidence sessions following the receipt of written responses;

·         Develop a communications strategy to promote the work of the Committee and the Commissioner for Standards; and

·         Asked the Committee Clerk to explore with the Welsh Government, whether an elected Member or senior official attend relevant Committee meetings to discuss the Ministerial Code and how the Code can complement the work being undertaken to develop the Respect and Dignity Policy.



Note from Jayne Bryant AM, Committee Chair

Jayne Bryant absented herself for Item 5, Report from the Commissioner for Standards in accordance with Standing Order 22.1(1). This was because the complaint submitted on behalf of the Assembly’s Labour Group included her.

Paul Davies AM, took the Chair for Item 5 following the Committee’s agreement on 15 November 2016 that he be elected as temporary Chair. 

Sir Roderick Evans, Commissioner for Standards, also left the meeting after Item 4.



5       Report from the Commissioner for Standards in accordance with Standing Order 22.2(1)

5.1 The Committee agreed to invite Sir Roderick Evans, Commissioner for Standards to attend the meeting whilst this item was considered.

5.2 Members considered the Commissioner for Standards Report in accordance with Standing Order 22.2(i).

5.3 Members noted that the Member concerned has stated that written evidence will be provided for their consideration and that the Member wishes to make an oral representation. The Clerks will contact the Member and offer a number of dates for the hearing.