Concise Minutes - Culture, Welsh Language and Communications Committee

Meeting Venue:

Committee Room 2 - Senedd

Meeting date: Wednesday, 14 June 2017

Meeting time: 09.27 - 11.23
This meeting can be viewed
on Senedd TV at:




Assembly Members:

Bethan Jenkins AM (Chair)

Hannah Blythyn AM

Dawn Bowden AM

Suzy Davies AM

Neil Hamilton AM

Dai Lloyd AM

Jeremy Miles AM


Elin Haf Gruffydd-Jones, Aberystwyth University

Ifan Morgan Jones, Bangor University

Committee Staff:

Steve George (Clerk)

Rhea James (Deputy Clerk)

Robin Wilkinson (Researcher)

Gwyn Griffiths (Legal Adviser)



1       Introductions, apologies, substitutions and declarations of interest

1.1 Apologies were received from Lee Waters. There were no substitutions.





View the meeting transcript (PDF 658KB) View as HTML (236KB)




2       News Journalism in Wales: Evidence Session 4

2.1 Witnesses responded to questions from Members of the Committee.

2.2 Elin Haf Gruffydd-Jones agreed to send background information on journalism models in Basque and Finland.

2.3 Committee Members agreed to write to witnesses with further questioning.




3       Paper(s) to note

3.1 Members noted the papers.




3.1   Funding for and access to music education: Lewis School Pengam Visit Summary



3.2   The Future of S4C: Additional evidence from S4C



3.3   News Journalism in Wales: Additional written evidence from Enders Analysis



3.4   News Journalism in Wales: Additional Evidence from Dr Andy Williams and Emma Meese, Cardiff University



3.5   Correspondence from the Chair of the Petitions Committee: Petitions within Committee Remit




4       Motion under Standing Order 17.42 to resolve to exclude the public from the remainder of the meeting

4.1 The motion was agreed.




5       Private debrief

5.1 Committee Members considered the evidence received.




6       Consideration of Draft Research Brief: Tony Hall, BBC Director General

6.1 The Committee considered the draft brief




7       The Future of S4C: Consideration of Key Issues Paper

7.1 The Committee considered the key issues paper.